About Us


Board of Directors

Denis Waddell, Chairman

Denis Waddell


Denis is a Chartered Accountant with extensive experience in the management of exploration and mining companies. Denis founded Tanami Gold NL in 1994 and was involved with the Company as Managing Director and then Chairman and Non-Executive Director until 2012. Prior to founding Tanami Gold NL, Denis was the Finance Director of the Metana Minerals NL group. During the past 36 years, Denis has gained considerable experience in corporate finance and operations management of exploration and mining companies.

Errol Smart, Managing Director and CEO

Errol Smart

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Errol is a geologist, registered for JORC purposes, and has 28 years of industry experience across all aspects of exploration, mine development and operations with experience in precious and base metals. He has held positions in Anglogold, Cluff Mining, Metallon Gold, Clarity Minerals LionGold Corporation and African Stellar Holdings. Errol’s senior executive roles have been on several boards of companies listed on both the TSX and ASX and currently serves as a Director on the Board of the Minerals Council South Africa.

Alexander Haller, Non Executive Director

Alexander Haller

Non Executive Director

Alexander is a principal of Zachary Asset Holdings Previously, Alexander worked in the corporate finance division at JPMorgan Chase, as an advisor on mergers and acquisitions, and financing, in both equity and debt capital markets.

Mark Palmer, Non Executive Director

Mark Palmer

Non Executive Director

Mark has 13 years experience working with entities in Australia, including 8 years with Dominion Mining.  He previously worked with NM Rothschild & Sons Limited for the London mining project, as part of the finance team where he was responsible for assessing mining projects globally.  He later moved ot the investment banking team at UBS, where his focus was global mergers and acquisitions, and equity and debt financing.  He also ran the EMEA mining team at UBS, later joining Tembo Capital in 2015 as investment director.

Godfrey Gomwe

Non Executive Director

Godfrey is the former chief executive officer of Anglo American plc’s Thermal Coal business, where his responsibilities included oversight over the company’s manganese interests in the joint venture with BHP.  Until August 2012, Godfrey was an executive director of Anglo American South Africa, prior to which he held the positions finance director and chief operating officer.  He was also chairman and chief executive of Anglo American Zimbabwe Limited and served on a number of Anglo American executive committees and operating boards, including Kumba Iron Ore, Anglo American Platinum, Highveld Steel & Vanadium and Mondi South Africa.

Tom Borman

Non Executive Director

Tom is a highly experienced global mining executive who served more than 11 years working for the BHP Billiton Group in various senior managerial roles, including that of chief financial officer. He also held senior roles in strategy and business development, and served as the project manager for the merger integration transaction between BHP Limited and Billiton. After leaving BHP Billiton in 2006, Tom joined Warrior Coal Investments, where he was part of the executive team which established the portfolio of assets which became the Optimum Group of companies.